White shirts


Fell off the wagon with blogging the last few days.  Weekend trip to Portland to visit with my parents.  Goobs got sick again and has been needy- wanting to be carried constantly even while napping.  I did wear him over to the mall today.  It’s a short walk but I generally avoid it.  I had a dress that I’d gotten for $5 at Goodwill with the Macy’s tags still on and a “no receipt return” barcode.  I figured that trying to return it was worth a shot, particularly since I decided I’d need two new white shirts to get me through Placement Week.  It worked!  Goodbye size twelve bamboo print dress.  Hello $96 store credit.  Total scam.  I don’t feel bad about it though.  Someone bought that dress.  They never wore it and had the right to return it.  A right they donated to Goodwill and I bought for $5.  So instead of supporting sweat shops and the rest of it when I bought my two new shirts, I was supported jobs for the handicapped and a philosophy of reusing.  Right?  Scams are fun though.  The only problem is I’m not quite sure I love the shirts.  They don’t fit quite perfectly and I’ve been thinking lately that I should only invest in well-made, well-planned things that I will have for years and love.  I picked up this cheesy style book at the thrift store and am worried my shirts don’t fit all these criteria.  I’m thinking of exchanging the less tailored one for new underwear and investing in one of these instead.  They are made in the U.S.A.  What do you think?

I do spend less time thinking about this stuff than is implied by the fact that I’m posting about it here but the whole dressing well thing is new and elusive to me.

One Comment on “White shirts”

  1. […] White shirts […]


Leave a Reply

