A budget

I’m fantasizing about repainting the house in earthy neutrals and replacing the dishes with heath ceramics.

Anyway.  Improvement of the day?:  I did it!  I drafted a budget.  Overcoming a massive and inexplicable lifetime mental block.  It’s been FOREVER that I’ve been wistful thinking how nice it would be to know we were on track with our financial goals, occasionally becoming resentful and thinking fiercely things like “of course I deserve to buy my son some $15 organic pajamas on sale at the outlet (plus some for friends with new babies)- who are you to tell me otherwise”.  This in response to the guilty voice always telling me to be careful*.  Well, no longer, friends!  Now I can relax about long term planning and scheme happily how best to spend the household allowance every month.  The new budget even includes $300 a month for travel (for weekend trips plus to save up for larger trips!).  The challenge now will be tracking our progress in relation to our goals.

We need to make a few home improvements before we’re off to DC: repainting the exterior trim and proofing against rodents, pruning the laurel and finding a yard care professional to keep up with it all while we’re gone.  Tomorrow I will draft my official BDC list (before DC).  Oh, and this should lay to rest the uncertainty that was no doubt keeping you up: I am still headed to DC for placement week!  The officers were super nice and helpful.  They even offered to show me some owls in the park out there.  Now I just need a haircut and two new white shirts.

Friends, would you believe it’s 3:42 AM?  Goobs and I have a date at the aquarium set for 9:30 AM, so I best be off to bed.

* Funny how that voice never ever speaks up at the grocery store.  Also funny how much time I spend there, feeling like royalty with my exotic produce, organic cheeses, and natural cleansers.

Leave a Reply

