Interview

There it is.  The AAAS building.

The building wherein I finished my interview less than an hour ago.

Overall it went pretty well I think.  It was relaxed.  People laughed.  I was drugged, of course.  I mostly read my five minute presentation at the beginning, talking too quietly as always, but trying to make eye contact with everyone.  I think boring them to distraction may have ultimately worked to my advantage though, because none of the questions afterwards was very probing.  After that I got to talk about motorcycles and owl poop and Ecuador and that part was fun anyway.

On the way out I ran into Sasha!  Crazy crazy.

This is me before the interview, looking like a dour and nearsighted schoolmarm from the 1800s.  I probably should have bought myself a stylish suit, but I did not.  This outfit is entirely stuff I had:

sheer pale pink J.Crew blouse from Goodwill ($10)

long skirt from the J. Crew outlet store about 10 years ago ($12)

boots from Nordstrom were a graduation gift from my mom over 6 years ago (about $250)

belt from T.J. Maxx ($15)

handmade earrings from La Paloma were a Christmas present

I did buy the coat which was about $50 from Macy’s online.  I have to say though, it didn’t look quite right with the skirt.  Oh well.  I’m a scientist, people.  I can get away this stuff.

Now I have the insane luxury of an afternoon and evening all to myself in a new city.  Oh the possibilities!  Of course I’m here the extra night to go to the National Forum for the new Forest Service Planning Rule.  So I’ll probably go to that.  But I could just go to a museum instead.  Or find a place to read or knit.  Or go work out in the hotel gym.  Gentle readers, you’re going to have to excuse me now.  This is too crazy of an opportunity not to be taken to its full advantage.

Leave a Reply

