Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ooops.  What a sad cake.

Poor Goobiedoozer was full blown sick today.  I had to miss office hours (again!) and T.A. meeting to stay home with him.  At one point I got very frustrated.  I wanted him to play with blocks or look at his books like he usually does plus have a two hour nap so I could book my tickets for the D.C. trip and make a Valentine for the Whiz and a nice dinner.  No such luck.  Things were actually going great until nap time when I made the mistake of putting the humidifier in his room.  After only half an hour he woke TERRIFIED.  After that he cried A LOT!  Wanted things to eat or drink but then cried when I got them for him.  Wouldn’t let me put him down.  And for a while just cried inconsolably in my lap.  He’s never like that so I don’t have very many coping strategies.  Finally I gave up on dinner and then everything was fine.  He sat in my lap and hugged me and laughed while I sang him “animal fair” and eventually fell asleep as it was getting dark.  I held him and listened him breathe and to wind and rain lashing the windows and to a report of the Egyptians cleaning up their public square with the pride of a newly free people.  It was really really nice.  A moment I’d like to remember forever.

When Whiz came home the house was a mess.  I managed to make a cake after sneaking the sleeping Goobs upstairs but it fell apart (see above).  I whipped up some fettucine alfredo with pink peppercorns and steamed artichokes.  It tasted good, but dinner was over quickly and bedtime suddenly upon us.  It was nice to clean up to the sound of Whiz reading to Goober in bed though (the monitor was still on from naptime).

We’re not going to take a family trip to DC.  We’ll save our money- maybe for a trip to Nova Scotia.  And I’ll go alone to interview and attend the national forum on the new planning rule for Forest Service.  Although I was excited for the family trip, I’m relieved to be able to focus while I’m there and not have the stress of planning a trip that I didn’t feel like the Whiz was 100% on board with.  The memorandum I have to submit by next Monday has me a little intimidated.  Lots of work to do.

Improvements: yesterday all my energy went to the date and to preparing for the interview.  Today it all went towards our sick baby and the holiday dinner.  Also I did make Whiz a rushed Valentine.

I’m TIRED.  There’s still lots of cleaning to do before bed.  I hope I get more time to myself tomorrow so I can make some progress with the memorandum.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

