The mantle.

Back in December I put a wood bowl of granny smith apples on the mantle as a Christmas decoration.  They were getting a little wizened, so today I peeled them, sliced them and tossed them with maple syrup, cranberries, raisins and orange juice concentrate for the making of a crisp.  We had friends over and most of the crisp was eaten along with a lot of beer cheese (potato, leek, kale) soup, some asparagus and greens with citrus viniagrette and a whole loaf of yummy bread.

I bought an orchid to put on the mantle instead.  Now I have two mismatched orchids there and I think the are stunning.  They felt like a splurge but I reminded myself I think nothing of spending that much on wine.  I’ll just cut back on wine for a little while and the budget will never notice.

That was pretty much my day.  I also made cheese scones for breakfast.  In the afternoon Whiz went over to a friend’s to watch football and I hung out with the Goob, shopped, cooked, cleaned and then sat around and ate and talked and laughed with friends and said goodnight and cleaned up.

Goobster was really sweet today.  While I was getting dinner ready I accidentally pulled down the hanging basket of onions and potatoes and squash on myself.   He ran out of his playroom all concerned when he heard me yell, and was very sweet handing me everything to put back while I stood on a chair.

2 Comments on “The mantle.”

  1. […] one.  It just never occurred to me that it was something that needed doing.  When I baked an apple crisp recently though the smell really bothered me.  Then I read about an overnight oven cleaner in my […]

  2. […] one.  It just never occurred to me that it was something that needed doing.  When I baked an apple crisp recently though the smell really bothered me.  Then I read about an overnight oven cleaner in my […]


Leave a Reply

