Rejection

OK.  It’s been a month since I submitted my application for Director of Science at The Nature Conservancy so it was no surprise, but today’s rejection still hurt.  When I watched the woman who held the position previously give a talk at the zoo I saw the person I want to be in 10 years.  Her enthusiasm, intelligence, poise and her impact on conservation.  I rarely have that feeling about other people but it’s how I navigate life- casting little spider silks onto people who inspire me and slowly hauling myself toward their place in the world.  Now I feel like my little silks missed their target and sailed off into a void.  I don’t know whether I’ll ever get to where she is.

In other news, the Goobernator is on a breast-feeding strike.  I’ll spare you details, but it’s sad and confusing.

On a more positive note: The Whiz helped me get the boy to bed and then we watched The Office in our own bed whiled it rained outside.  Our bed is in a cozy little alcove that faces the Cascades.  It’s the best place in the world at the end of these short dark cold wet November days.

Leave a Reply

