Craft time

Henry got yet another vaccination today.  I brought a gift I made for our midwife (now our pediatrician) who recently returned from maternity leave after having her second.  It’s a onesie with an elephant applique in case you can’t tell from the photos.  I actually put my field guide to the animals of Africa to use.

For those of you into farty old lady crafts I used Lite Steam-A-Seam to affix the elephant and whip-stitched the edge.  The elephant was cut from an old shirt.

Voila!

Card and package made from my calendar and we were good to go.

I have to confess today was a bad day.  I found out I didn’t get a job I really wanted: Vice President of Field Conservation at the Woodland Park Zoo.  Not even an interview.  I also had a paper that represents the bulk of the work I did as a post-doc rejected.  In case you’re wondering what that feels like, it’s a little like falling off the jungle gym and hitting your head really hard on the dirt and then going home and swallowing lead.

Leave a Reply

