Delicata Squash

Why, yes, I AM proud of this photo, thank you.  No, I don’t have any formal training, but I’m flattered that you would ask.  Um, my mom’s old canon powershot A something that she gave me when I lost mine.  No, it’s not expensive.  Not at all.

Anyway, in other news: we still have a pile of delicata squash from our garden.  It was only last winter that I tasted delicata for the first time.  Now I think it may be my favorite fall/ winter produce.  They’re super easy to prepare: just cut lengthwise (which is much easier to do than with other squash), seed, rub with a little olive oil and roast in a covered dish for 30 min.  The flesh turns into an amazing sweet light golden custard all on its own.  Amazing!  Plus it makes perfect baby food.

Another bonus: Delicata are heirlooms so we can save seed for next year.

Leave a Reply

