First Annual Artisan Food Festival at Pike Place Market

Today I improvised a lemon cucumber mint avocado smoothie and went from wondering what to do with all our cucumbers to sad that we don’t have more.

Lemon Cucumber Avocado Mint Smoothie:

2-3 medium-sized cucumbers, peeled, seeded and chopped roughly

juice from two lemons

½ ripe avocado

¼ cup fresh mint leaves

2 Tbls apple juice concentrate or more to taste.

I made this twice today actually, the first time with the juice from only half a lemon because that’s all I had.  It was good.  Goobie ate quite a bit unsweetened.  But it was definitely missing something.  I tried sweetening it a little with agave which was disappointing.  I realized what I really wanted it to be was more of a tart lemonade with lots of mint and cucumber and avocado instead of water.  After obtaining a couple more lemons at PCC (one of them free incidentally because kids get free fruit at PCC I learned today as Goobernaut was gnawing a lemon in the cart), I tried again.  This time with the apple juice concentrate instead of agave.  MUCH better.  About perfect actually.  I brought some over to a friend’s who’s sick because it seemed like it might be therapeutic.

Goobernaut and I also attended the first annual artisan food festival at Pike Place Market today.  A best friend from elementary school was up from Portland to host a booth.  I bought some locally made pickled fig from her.  Yum!  More about her awesome local foods business to come when her website launches next month.  http://www.artisanfoodfestival.org/

Here we are age seven.

The food festival was awesome.  We might have to make it a tradition.  Free tastes of phenomenal foods plus a free bag of Café Vita coffee.  Oh Café Vita, you are irresistable!  Plus a free bag of rice which I won by spinning a wheel.  Wheee!!!  I love you, Seattle.

 

Leave a Reply

