Cucumber soup

Chilled cucumber avocado lemon mint soup

Oh boy.  First post.  Surprisingly this has not gotten any easier in all the long while that it’s been put off.  Yes, but there comes a time when we have to let go of delusions and take action on the things that we otherwise overthink and procrastinate.  Right?  So here we go.

Today I invented a soup.  The Whiz was not a fan, but I thought it was muy delicioso and I updated my FB status accordingly.  With no further ado, it’s my pleasure to introduce:

Chilled Cucumber Avocado Soup

2 large cucumbers, peeled and seeded

1 large Hass avocado, perfectly ripe

Juice from 1.5 lemons

3 scallions

1 small clove of garlic

1 Tbls dried dill (although fresh would have been better)

2 tsp ground coriander

¼ tsp white pepper or more to taste

sea salt to taste

dash of rice vinegar

This soup started with the largest cucumber you’ve ever seen.  I found it in our derelict veggie garden.  It was surprisingly sweet.  We had tons of cucumbers this year.  More than I could use.

I peeled it, scraped out its guts and chopped it roughly before blending it with the avocado, lemon juice, garlic and scallions.  The spices I added to taste in roughly the proportions outlined above.  The whole mess fit in a standard size blender jar and went straight into the fridge to chill for 30 min before being served with a garnish of scallions.

I ate a bowl for dinner with Alaskan salmon.  In retrospect a cup would have been more appropriate.  It’s a little rich.  This recipe would serve four as a cup-sized side.

Tomorrow I might make the cucumber lemon avocado base again, but this time go sweet instead of savory with fresh mint and honey.  I’ll keep you posted.

One Comment on “Cucumber soup”

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

